Top Ten Plants for September

Thanks again to Chloris at the Blooming Garden for hosting the “Top Ten” again this month.  Below are my top ten (in no particular order really) from the mid-September garden.  I’ll try to throw in a few non-Dahlias, but it’s really difficult – they’re such attention getters!  Enjoy, and don’t forget to stop by The Blooming Garden to check out other “top ten” posts.

 

IMG_9725.JPG
Dahlia ‘Twinkle Toes’ – not sure who comes up with these silly names, but this one is a beauty.  It’s new in the garden this year.  Stands about 4 feet tall, does require some staking, but has gorgeous 4″-6″ white with lavender-tipped petals.

 

 

IMG_9802.JPG
Dahlia ‘Calhoun Moon’ – I believe this made the cut last month as well.  This is also a new add this year and I simply love it.  It’s a multi-staged beauty – the colors ranging from peach, yellow to a pale orange.

 

 

IMG_9803.JPG
Dahlia ‘David Howard’ – anyone who’s been following the blog for awhile knew this one was coming.  It remains one of my all-time favorite dahlias.  The strikingly orange blooms against the burgundy stems and foliage is a winner.

 

 

IMG_9805
Dahlia ‘Garden Wonder’ – I did mention I adore dahlias, right?

 

 

IMG_9723
Dahlia ‘Worton Blue Streak’

 

As difficult as it is for me to believe, I know there are people out there who actually don’t care for dahlias.  So for those folks (as strange as I may find you), here are some other beauties in the mid-September garden.

 

IMG_9822.JPG
Cosmos – how can one resist the simple purity of the white cosmos?

 

 

IMG_9816.JPG
Lonicera sempervirens – a hummingbird favorite, this vine, after a lull in blooms last month, is fully loaded once again.

 

 

IMG_9738.JPG
Hydrangea paniculata ‘Pinky Winky’ – I think this was on last month’s list as well, but if you compare photos you will see how much the color of the flower has changed.  It is a deep claret right now that is absolutely stunning.

 

 

IMG_9820
Phlox paniculata ‘David’ – while many of the phlox in the garden have passed their prime, the ‘David’ is still blooming and looks as fresh as ever.

 

 

IMG_9798.JPG
Another type of beauty in the garden; she popped by to help herself to some apples.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Plants for September

Add yours

  1. I think I have the Pinky Pinky hydrangea in my garden. The shapes of the crown of blossoms are similar and the color in the blossoms in late summer/fall turn a deep maroon, similar to the color of your hydrangea. It has been fun tending to this hydrangea since I trained it into a hydrangea tree, now almost twelve feet…..the trunk needs lots of support due to the weight of the branches over the years.

    Like

  2. Thank you for joining in and sharing your favourite September blooms. I love your dahlias, I agree they are fabulous. I am so envious of your Pinky Winky, mine never seems to manage to get that lovely dark pink colour.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

