Sunday in the Garden

“The lesson I have thoroughly learnt, and wish to pass on to others, is to know the enduring happiness that the love of a garden gives.” — Gertrude Jekyll

IMG_8859.JPG

This past Sunday was a nearly perfect day in the garden.  The sky was overcast, but the temperature was in the low 70s with negligible humidity; a rarity in the July.

IMG_8846.JPG

Even the swarm of blackflies around my head couldn’t spoil this wondrous day.

IMG_8817.JPG

Between the travel this spring/summer and the nearly constant rain from April though early July, I feel as though I’ve missed many precious moments in the garden this season.

IMG_8794

But yesterday I made up for lost time.  I started at 7am and didn’t run out of steam until around 4pm.  My morning began with the dogs in the orchard.  While I picked berries (currants, blueberries and raspberries), they chased each other through the fruit trees,  and wove in and out of the blueberry bushes as though they were an obstacle course.  It’s always amazing to watch their agility, and the sheer joy they experience when allowed to run freely.  That was a great beginning to the day…

IMG_8782.JPG

I had the best of intentions of carrying on with the weeding of the vegetable garden that I had begun the day before, but alas I was swept away by other things.  I began by giving the container plants some much needed liquid (organic) feed, then moved on to the heavy feeders in the vegetable garden (sunflowers, tomatoes, sweet peas).

IMG_8864.JPG

From there, my intent was to do a little deadheading and cut back of some of the perennials that will bloom again – albeit a little less spectacularly – in late summer/early fall (catmint, hardy geraniums, etc.).  I started in the circle garden, moving into the neighboring shade border, and from there into the hot border (below).

IMG_8857.JPG

While in the hot border, I could see part of the front yard and thought, “I really should do some deadheading up front.”  I’m not fond of  working in the front yard since we live on a busy road; the constant stream of vehicles disrupts my serenity.  As a result, I don’t get out there as frequently as I probably should.

IMG_8803.JPG

 

Once I wrapped up the front, I returned to the back and took some time to sit and watch the wildlife.

IMG_8787.JPG

But then the rose garden beckoned, and then I figured I might as well hit the herb border and the hollyhock border as well (which hasn’t even received its “spring” cleanup yet).

IMG_8772.JPG

Before I knew it, it was 4 pm.  It was a thoroughly exhausting, but thoroughly satisfying day.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

