Walking around the garden

The rain had stopped by the time I arrived home after work.  I was happy to have the rain after a weekend of planting dahlias, containers, and seedlings in the vegetable garden (tomatoes, peppers, eggplant and sweet peas).  It was a gentle, constant rain much of the day and the garden always benefits.

 

IMG_7409.JPG
Which of these things is not like the others?

 

But… there’s always the “but” with gardeners…but the rain also benefits the weeds, dandelions, and grass that are running rampant through my borders right now.  I know I’m not really “behind” since we’ve barely passed the last frost date, but I feel very behind.

So, as I was bemoaning how much work there was to do in the garden and how I couldn’t get to it with all the rain in the forecast for this week, Nora swooped in to the rescue – as she so often does – and grabbed the camera, and me, and forced a garden walk-about.

IMG_7404

The tulips have gone over for the most part and are quickly passing into the spent, ugly phase.  I will have to get to them this weekend to cut back the stems.  But I allow the foliage to remain until yellowed to put some energy back into the bulbs for next year’s performance.

IMG_7408.JPG

However, the perennials have really shot up.  The alliums are half open and the camassia lilies are on the cusp.

 

IMG_7414.JPG
Pearl Bush with allium ‘Purple Sensation’

 

But we did manage to find a few others in full bloom (see below).

 

IMG_7396
Weeping Siberian Pea Shrub
IMG_7406
Pink Forget-Me-Nots?  Self-seeded from last year

 

 

IMG_7401.JPG
Japanese Anemone ‘Honorine Jobert’ – incredibly invasive – mine are in a bottomless pot in the border to keep them somewhat contained – but I love them

 

One thought on “Walking around the garden

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

